Adding weight to the muzzle end, what does it do?

Brought to you by Zero Bullet Company Inc.

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, Isabel1130

prohjac

Adding weight to the muzzle end, what does it do?

Post by prohjac »

I am new to bullseye pistol shooting. I am shooting a sig trailside and am shooting in the 80's for slow fire, 70's for timed and 60's for rapid. Would adding a little weight under the muzzle help bring the sights back on target quicker and more easier?

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

hjac

Post by Guest »

It helped me but I think if your shooting 60's and 70's your grip is more important then weight at this point. Do you shoot timed and rapid the same way? I shoot the timed and rapid at about 8 seconds for each. I feel thinking about the shot hurts me. I was shooting in the low 90's and added the weight and have cleaned 30 percent of my targets and am in the high 90's now. It may just be the practice but I know it didn't hurt.
Guest Twenty

60s and 70s

Post by Guest Twenty »

If you are shooting 60s and 70s you need someone to critique your technique - someone to observe you. It cannot be done here in a few words. Most likely you are trying for speed for and trigger control and sight alignment are taking a back seat. Try for perfection before quantity. Proper trigger control is of utmost importance.
Isabel1130

Post by Isabel1130 »

It is your trigger technique, not the weight of your gun. You need to learn to pull the trigger faster without disturbing the sight alighnment on your gun. This technique should be applied to slow fire as well as timed and rapid fire. Try shooting every shot in slow fire like it was your first shot in timed or rapid fire. If you don't get a good sight alignment and pull the trigger smoothly within about three seconds after the gun has settled on the target, you should put the gun down and try it again. Speed will come after your trigger technique is correct. K
prohjac

Post by prohjac »