Wow

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

Tzed250

Wow

Post by Tzed250 »

I have not paid attention to Smallbore for nearly two decades, and I’m super surprised to learn about how the sport has changed.

I started shooting smallbore in 1977 as a teenager. I attended the 1978 and 1980 National Matches, and did a clinic at the OTC in 1979

IIRC there were over 500 competitors at Camp Perry each year for Smallbore.

I looked at last years results and saw that 30 people shot prone, and 20 people shot position.

I’m absolutely blown away at the drop in attendance.

I remember my times at Camp Perry with great fondness.
bdutton

Re: Wow

Post by bdutton »

Tzed250 wrote: Thu Feb 01, 2024 8:46 pm I have not paid attention to Smallbore for nearly two decades, and I’m super surprised to learn about how the sport has changed.

I started shooting smallbore in 1977 as a teenager. I attended the 1978 and 1980 National Matches, and did a clinic at the OTC in 1979

IIRC there were over 500 competitors at Camp Perry each year for Smallbore.

I looked at last years results and saw that 30 people shot prone, and 20 people shot position.

I’m absolutely blown away at the drop in attendance.

I remember my times at Camp Perry with great fondness.
The NRA wrecked the sport when the moved out of Camp Perry against the wishes of a vast majority of the competitors. The CMP is doing a pretty good job of trying to build it back up under their name at Camp Perry.

The 3P turnout last year was very good.
Egon12

Post by Egon12 »

The NRA wrecked the sport when the moved out of Camp Perry against the wishes of a vast majority of the competitors. The CMP is doing a pretty good job of trying to build it back up under their name at Camp Perry.

The 3P turnout last year was very good.
[/quote]