Sling Selection

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

Dave IRL

Sling Selection

Post by Dave IRL »

I'm currently thinking of changing my sling. I've been using one of the MEC/Centra ones for a few years. Currently on my second in fact as it's been replaced before, but the replacement has been beset by precisely the same problems as the original, in that the grub screw which goes through one of the knurled wheels and onto the threaded column which controls the length of the fine adjustment mechanism has gone missing, allowing the mechanism to either unwind or simply to strip off the rather shallow thread. The sling has broken apart and required a repair a number of times in training and competition as a result, and I'm losing faith in it.

As such, I'm considering a replacement. The first thing is to ask: Is there a good way to fix this so that it ceases to be a problem. In terms of function, I've had no problems at all with the sling and consider it a great bit of kit, but in terms of reliability, it's been poor. If I could fix that, it would be an agreeable, and significantly cheaper, alternative.

If a replacement seems like a better idea, I've narrowed the list down to some of the following. This isn't to say I'm not open to other suggestions, but these are comparatively easily available to me and meet my requirements for sturdiness of construction. Any experiences with these or alternatives to consider will be greatly appreciated.

Sauer Exact III Synthetic/Leather
Kurt Thune ATL
Akah Logic

All of these seem to have a pretty decent presence in international competition as well (as does the MEC), so they seem to have something going for them. The Akah seems to be quite popular, but I don't think I've ever gotten to handle one up close. What are they like? Soft or very stiff? Prone to stretching at all? The fine adjust system looks good.

Thanks in advance,

Dave
PatrickS916

Post by PatrickS916 »