Newbie looking for a first .22LR

A place to discuss non-discipline specific items, such as mental training, ammo needs, and issues regarding ISSF, USAS, and NRA

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Scooper2600

Newbie looking for a first .22LR

Post by Scooper2600 »

Hey all!

I'm new to shooting and firearms. I don't have a whole lot of experience, but I have gone to the range a few times with friends. They suggested that I come here and see if the forum could give me any input on a first rifle.

Preferable Specs:
+Sub$400
+Bolt Action
+Magazine loaded prefered

I plan to use it for range target shooting, possibly competition down the road. Any help is appreciated
Pat McCoy

Post by Pat McCoy »

You won't have much luck here, as Olympic shooting requires single shot rifles. Try rimfirecentral.com.
Tom Amlie

Post by Tom Amlie »

Even though this forum is devoted to "Olympic Shooting" disciplines, where single-shot rifles are required, I am sure plenty of people will be willing to chime in with suggestions.

If you drop the "magazine fed" requirement, CDNN Investments has (had?) some Russian CM-2 rifles at a great price. Used, and varying in cosmetic condition, but excellent, accurate rifles. One of those will take you a long way in competitive shooting at a good price.

I'm sure someone else here could give you advice on what's available in terms of clip-fed rifles. An old Remington 513-T (not made in decades) is an excellent choice, but unfortunately they sell for collector value more than shooter value. The Mossberg M44 (also no longer made) is a good entry level rifle as well. Not nearly as good as the 513T or CM2; more of a lower entry-level rifle. I'm sure there's some current production stuff; I just don't follow that area too much.
TomAmlie

Post by TomAmlie »