12 bullseye NRA target - do you adjust your position?

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

ARshooter

12 bullseye NRA target - do you adjust your position?

Post by ARshooter »

I am still fairly new to the sport and to this forum but read it on a daily basis. It's been incredibly helpful. So far I only shoot 10m air rifle at home but have gotten pretty serious about it.
I do have a couple of questions regarding the position. I use the NRA 12 target sheet for cost savings reasons. However I do get quiet different groups or results as I move along the targets. Do I need to move my feet or just try to adjust my zero point? Is it better to just shoot all targets along the horizontal or the vertical line? Is it even possible to get consistent results with these targets?
Also, where exactly do you have to be in relation to the 10m line. Can your forward foot be on the line or does it relate to the muzzle of the rifle?
Thanks for your help
TWP

Post by TWP »

On the AR5-10 target you need to check your natural point of aim on every bulls eye.

Most likely you will have to adjust your position as you move around the target.

The barrel of the rifle can extend across the 10 meter firing line, but your feet (or elbows in prone) cannot.
Freepistol

Post by Freepistol »

Hi ARshooter,

I've never shot air rifle, however, when I shot 50 ft. smallbore, I found it best to start with the number 1 bull and shoot counterclockwise. Keep your targets and compare the bullet holes to see if you are consistantly losing some in the same area on any particular bull. The first bull has quite a stretch from the sighter and if the shots are impacting at 4 or 5 o'clock you are using muscle to force the rifle from the sighter.
ARshooter

Post by ARshooter »

Thanks for the valuable input.