concentration / how to recover from a 7 ?

A place to discuss non-discipline specific items, such as mental training, ammo needs, and issues regarding ISSF, USAS, and NRA

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

DJP

concentration / how to recover from a 7 ?

Post by DJP »

Hi Everyone
A quick thankyou to all the contributors, as a new shooter I'm finding lots of ideas and tips. I've been shooting for 8 months ( prone )

Had a comp on the weekend, scoring was good for me for the first 40 .
95,93,96,94 then 83 and 88. I still had 20 mins left after finishing.

My question- in the 83 I shot a 7 then a 6. I know why I shot the seven but the 6 I'm sure was because i was annoyed I took the shot and got a 7 .

I know I should concentrate on this shot only not the last or the next .
But does anyone have some tips on how to achieve this

Secondly should I have taken a break after the seven and not "pushed on"

Thanks
David
RobStubbs

Post by RobStubbs »

Some thoughts; Practice, concentration, train your mental focussing skills and only think of the shot in the gun. If you get distracted by a previous shot then it shows a gap in your training. You need to clear your mind and refocus and if you need to take a break to do that then do so. Some people prefer to refocus and stay on the line - but it's really just what works for you.

Out of interest how much mental training do you do ? Do you practice refocussing and distraction control ?

It's the same old maxim as any other time in a match; keep positive, concentrate on the process that you train day in day out and just do what you know works.

Rob.
Oz

Post by Oz »