Balance?

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

TopGuns

Balance?

Post by TopGuns »

I am somewhat new to the 3-P Precision Air Game and am finding out that that there is a whole lot more to position shooting then what I taught in the Marines 20 years ago. The basics are much the same but after that,,, well I'm still learning!
Question, What is the recomended balance point (using barrel & stock weights) for a beginner to try to achieve with say an Anschutz 8002? or any rifle for that mater?
My first guess is that it would be just forward of the front support hand in the standing position. Does anyone have any advise or info on this subject? I understand that it becomes a matter of preferance as a shooter progresses their skills, I'm looking for a good starting point.
I've got some fine young shooters in our 4-H club and some who want to take it to the next level.
Thanks
Soupy44

Post by Soupy44 »

I would recommend the balance point be either at the support hand or slightly further back. This helps the rifle stay in one's shoulder without much pressure from the trigger hand. This is strongly recommended for smaller kids. The gun being butt heavy makes it seem lighter.

In contrast I have a 2002. It is right at max weight, and I added all the weight at the muzzle in the form of a MEC bloop tube and barrel weights. Short of taking the little square weight from the butt stock and replacing the weight on the muzzle, you can't get much more barrel heavy than that. I prefer it this way because I feel the gun holds better in position. It acts like it's heavier than it is.

At the same time, most of the people that pick up my gun hate it because it falls out of their shoulder.
peepsight

Post by peepsight »

I agree with Soupy44