Blur in the eye

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

tsokasn

Blur in the eye

Post by tsokasn »

Hello everyone!
I recently started shooting prone,and I must say that I like it a lot!!!
But something strange is happening for the last three days.
After about 30 shots,my right eye(aiming one)starts to blur?(it cannot focus right,can't see the bull as good as in the first shots).I asked a friend shooter about that and he told me that it's because og the bright sun.(you see here in Greece,we still enjoy the sun)He advised me to close the rear iris a little bit and the eye will be ok.I had the iris set at 1.1mm.
Is this right?Is it because of the brightness?How much must I close the iris?
Thank you!
squiggly007

Post by squiggly007 »

What I usually do is try to get it on the bull, then I close it all the way and slowly start to open it until it comes into focus.
xcrunner8k

Post by xcrunner8k »

i use an anti-glare tube for the bright sun because my iris is narrow anyway (1.2ish) and in the sun it would need to be about 0.8. as for your eye problem, i experience the same thing if i strain my eye too much. and it happens very quickly, after about 10 shots. it's similar to trying to read a book in poor light; your eyes feel like they want to pop out. try to minimize staring at the target for too long.
WarWagon

Post by WarWagon »

I had a similar problem, and it ended up being eye fatigue. I was overcompensating because it turned out I had a slight astigmatism in my eye, even though I had better than 20/20 vision. A set of Champions took care of it.
Albert B

A gray filter?

Post by Albert B »