Improving Position/Muscle Memory

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

Aviator24

Post by Aviator24 »

This is an exercise given to me by George Brenzovich who has been coaching for around 40 years. It helped me quickly adjust to my new rifle and equipment. I've been shooting for 10 months (3p air) and this season my standing scores were around 89 on average. Now after doing this exercise many times, I'm consistently shooting 97's and 96's. I can't guarantee that kind of improvement for everybody, but I do hope it will be beneficial. By the way this is not just limited to the standing position it has also helped both my other positions, but standing was the most improved.

- 30 minutes of mounting the rifle
- no pulling the trigger (even dry-firing)
- put the rifle down if mount is incorrect or "doesn't feel right"
- 30 minutes of holding exercises
- again no firing including dry-firing
- hold rifle on a specific spot for 25-30 seconds (I used a target and picked a bull)
- 20 minutes of shooting
- 10 quality shots
- it's ok if it takes a bit longer than 20 minutes when you are building up rhythm which takes practice

If you get tired, stop the timer, take a rest, then start back up. It's typical with this exercise to get tired after the first few times.

-Haynes
mishradk

Post by mishradk »

Hi Haynes,
Thank you very much for the information you have provided..
I just need few more information.
- 30 minutes of mounting the rifle Could you please explain me this? which part of that you call mounting?

- 30 minutes of holding exercises Could you please explain me this again?

I think I am confused among this.. till what it is called holding and what is called mounting..

Thank you in advance..
regards
MishraDK
Jordan F.

Post by Jordan F. »

Thanks Haynes!

Like the last poster though I would appreciate if you could add a few details to the areas described above.

Thanks,
Jordan
Aviator24

Post by Aviator24 »