Axson Hand pump repair

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
Alex L

Axson Hand pump repair

Post by Alex L »

Yesterday, I had my hand pump repaired, and I was a student to the mechanic! I watched him Very carefully for the whole time, while he dismantled the pump, cleaned and repaired it, and put it back together.

My pump is about 5 years old, and was corroded and dusty inside the shaft.
When you know how - it is not too hard to disassemble. You need a few different sized allen keys, a good vice, and cleaning agents, and of course, new O rings of various sizes, and lock-tight and silicon oil.

If anyone has problems with their pump, I suggest you remove the bottom part of the pump, where the main sleeve fits in to the base. There is a drop screw which you must remove with an allen key. This will give you access to the bottom part and the 3 shafts. There is a non-return valve there, with a spring and O rings which need to be removed, and cleaned before replacing. This is the first stage.

If any other O rings need changing from around the shafts, you will need to remove the handle - which will give you access to the shafts.

To write down all the process will take quite a while - however there are 2 aspects which were pointed out to me -
1) don't use the pump on a carpet, as there is too much fluff/dust.
2)keep a cover over the nipple where you screw your empty cylinder onto, to keep it clean. there is a special silicon oil you can add to keep the flexibility of the O rings.