Visualization - is it important?

A place to discuss non-discipline specific items, such as mental training, ammo needs, and issues regarding ISSF, USAS, and NRA

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Joshua Young

Visualization - is it important?

Post by Joshua Young »

I am a rifle shooter and have tried to visualize correct sight picture, shot process, etc. I am not very good at it and seem to have a knack for visualizing an incorrect sight picture!

How important is visualization?
Raj

Post by Raj »

Visualization is very important - it builds focus and concentration for and during the shot rythm. I am not sure if I understand when you say that you visualize on the wrong sight picture. To help you focus on the right sight picture for your shot release, make a picture of the perfect sight picture - depending on your front aperture diameter and the ring thickness and the rear aperture diameter (you can find copies of the perfect sight picture in the book - the Ways of the Rifle). Then start looking at the picture in you spare time and before you practice - you are training your mind to recognize the perfect sight picture for shot release (which is sub-conscious).

To improve on your visualization, prepare a set of steps for your shot rythm and identify one item that would require concentration at all times - concentrate on each of these steps and the item during the whole shot process. Talk to yourself on each step of the process and think what needs to be done to get the right "feeling". Visualize the ideal hold (detailed in your step), if correct go to the next step, etc. and finally talk to yourself that you will not release the shot if you are not happy with the sight picture. Practice this dry-firing at first and then live fire.