New guy question on weak hand pistol

A place to discuss non-discipline specific items, such as mental training, ammo needs, and issues regarding ISSF, USAS, and NRA

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

VNK971

New guy question on weak hand pistol

Post by VNK971 »

Hello. I'm doing the NRA/Winchester qualification program and I'm at the point of shooting one-handed. I started shooting handguns about 50 years ago, the first being a 1911A1 in the Army, then I started shooting revolvers as a Police Officer. Since I retired I'm getting back into shooting. Two-handed I have no problem shooting weak (left) hand using my dominant (right) eye. However, I seem to remember from my academy days we were taught to use our non-dominant eye with our weak hand. We were also taught to close one eye too. I realize part of it was to present as little of your body from cover, but the doctrine has changed over the years. Which eye should I be using with my weak hand. Thank you.
atomicgale
Location: Copperhill Tennessee USA (a registered CERCLA superfund site)

Re: New guy question on weak hand pistol

Post by atomicgale »

Greetings Texas Hill Country (& Canyon Lake) from rural Appalachian Tennessee.

Presuming this is to qualify NRA Expert, "Stage Two - Weak Side, ONE HAND: Five shots in 10 seconds" (from page 5, Winchester/NRA qual. program).

My Opinion on ONE HAND "Weak-side" is: DOMINANT EYE! Both eyes open. The brain will more quickly accept input on visual perception from its preferred input sensor i.e. dominant eye. Then it's simple repetitive practice to coordinate the relatively clumsy muscles, hand, and finger on the left hand to adapt the skill set. Stance (if isosceles) is static; does not vary from strong hand or "weak hand." Head/vision square to target.