Washing pellets

A place to discuss non-discipline specific items, such as mental training, ammo needs, and issues regarding ISSF, USAS, and NRA

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Westporter

Washing pellets

Post by Westporter »

I recently stumbled across a couple of videos on You Tube demonstrating the washing of air gun pellets and then drying and lubing them? I had never heard of such a practice, but then I am fairly new to shooting fairly high grade air guns (just purchased a new FAS 6004). Does anyone seriously do this? I assume match grade pellets are ready to go out the tin.
kevinweiho

Re: Washing pellets

Post by kevinweiho »

I use RWS and H&N pellets and I find no need to wash them, they already come very clean from the tin. Other cheaper pellets from Daisy and Crosman leaves my fingers dirty with lead, but I don't clean them since I wash my hands everytime I finish shooting my airguns.
wasatch

Post by wasatch »

My observation after being a PCP rifle enthusiast (not 10m) for a number or years and now taken up 10m AP is that washing/weighing/roll sorting/lubing is more beneficial for the rifle shooters, especially competitive field target types. This is because really consistent pellets (as well as regulator & valve performance) can definitely reduce group size when shooting to 50 yds and further. Shooting those scoped rifles, rested at 25yds is fairly boring. However with 10m AP even lowly pellets like RWS Basic straight out of the tin group better than I can shoot off hand. So I dry fire or lift some weights instead of wash/sort/weigh pellets :-)