300 m standard - good first rifle

A place to discuss non-discipline specific items, such as mental training, ammo needs, and issues regarding ISSF, USAS, and NRA

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

bostonviewer

300 m standard - good first rifle

Post by bostonviewer »

Hi all,

Since there isnt a 300m area, I thought I would post this in the lounge. I am new to shooting, to add to that obvious handicap, I am not a citizen of USA. My country's politicians are still in an ex-British colonial hangover and think firearms with citizens is a bad idea. Policy ramblings aside, I can not buy a rifle in any calibre used by our military, including 7.62 (thus no .308). Also, apart from the .375 H&H, .30-06 Sprg, and a weird .315 based on the 8x50mmR Mannlicher, ammo availability is a big question. Those sportsmen who (despite the system) achieve minimum scores in national competitions are allowed to import competition-grade rifles and a reasonable quantity of competition-grade ammo. Thank God for small mercies.

I am keen on following the footsteps of some of my countrymen who have done us proud in ISSF and Olympic events, but in the 300 m standard event. My questions are:

1. Is 30-06 a good calibre to start out for the 300 m event?

2. Which is a good entry-level rifle for the 300 m event? Budget around $1000. (I plan to buy this rifle in the US, and take it with me when I go back. This is a special concession allowed by my country to those citizens who are returning after a minimum three years stay abroad.)

3. Is the Winchester M70 in .30-06 good enough for the 300 m event - to achieve the minimum score ofcourse.

Note : The minimum score I am looking to achieve is 475 out of 600. That will allow me to import competition-grade rifle and ammo the year after.