Upgrades for LG400 (Sights and Buttplate)

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

Chris.Will.10.9

Upgrades for LG400 (Sights and Buttplate)

Post by Chris.Will.10.9 »

I've been shooting 10m 3p air rifle for 3 years and 10m 6x10 Standing for 2 years. I started on a Anschutz 2002, but upgraded to a Walther Lg400 Competition last year. I love my new gun a lot, but I have been getting much more serious in my shooting and I am just not happy with my rear sights or buttplate. Currently I have a MEC Contact III for the buttplate and the sport-match sights that came with the rifle. I like the looks of the Centra Spy Rear Sights and the MEC Contact 4 or the Optimus 10.9 buttplates. Any suggestions for upgrades in those two areas would be great, I'm on a limited budget, but with time I can get just about any part if it'll make me a better shooter.
Thanks
-Christian W.
Tim S

Re: Upgrades for LG400 (Sights and Buttplate)

Post by Tim S »

Christian,

since I'm a prone shooter, I'll focus on the rearsight. Could you elaborate on how you are unhappy with the rearsight? Are the clicks too coarse? Are the clicks not accurate? Is there not enough click adjustment? Will it not move far enough backwards or forwards? The Centra Spy is certainly popular, and it is very slim which might be an advantage if the Walther blocks too much of your view down-range, but unless the Walther is faulty it may not be any more accurate. They Spy does look good, but that alone won't increase your score.
Chris.Will.10.9

Tim S,