Got a new rifle, have a few questions

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

jenrick

Got a new rifle, have a few questions

Post by jenrick »

I recently picked up a Savage Anschutz Mark 10A that came with Anschutz sights. It is a fantastically accurate rifle even for being vintage and showing a little wear. I am new to the smallbore game for this style of rifle and sights.

First off, I'd like replace the fixed rear aperture for an adjustable one. The aperture that came with the rifle is too small for where I shoot, and consequently I have a very dim sight picture. As this is an older rifle, with older sights, have the threads for the eyepiece changed at all? If they have not, does anyone have a recommendation for an adjustable iris? I'm not feeling the need for color filters or polarizing filters, so something fairly basic would be great. If the thread pitch or size has changed, anyone have a recommendation on where to find an aperture that would fit?

Secondly the hand stop/sling mount that came with the rifle sits too far forward in the prone, even with it moved to the position closest to the stock. Does anyone have a recommendation for a handstop that can be adjusted to sit closer to the trigger then it's mounting point (some sort of offset basically)? I'm not all that familiar with what's out there, as I have always shot service rifle in NRA High Power competition (no handstops allowed).