Changing butt plate -- again

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

Lil Stinkpot

Changing butt plate -- again

Post by Lil Stinkpot »

I'm swapping stocks on my Anscutz match 54, and I have the opportunity to choose a better butt plate for the new one. What is a good choice? I've been thinking of getting the basic 4759 to start with.

I'm still really new to shooting, still learning, well, everything, so I don't think I need the super fancy butt plate with all the widgits attached. I am sticking with conventional prone, not 3P just yet.
Last edited by Lil Stinkpot on Wed Apr 29, 2015 12:30 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Muffo

Re: Changing butt my plate

Post by Muffo »

its like 100 more to get all the widgets attached. why not just buy the best and never have to upgrade. what stock are you upgrading too
Lil Stinkpot

Post by Lil Stinkpot »

Well, some might argue (a lot) that it's not an upgrade at all, some even call it a downgrade, but I'm switching from a supermatch stock (what was that part number? 1411? 1413??) to a 1907. I never could get that big stock, built seemingly for gorillas, to fit me. LoP is about the only thing that's right, everything else requires some major woodwork.

The stock is lightly used, from another TT user. It would be about $200 or so more for a fancier butt plate. If it's a better idea, sure, I just want to be SURE.

This is hopefully the last upgrade for this antique. I love it to death, but parts will only be harder to find for it that fit, so I want to set it up to last me a while, and then stop buying stuff for it and save up for a more modern match 54. That's the idea, anyways.
Tim S

Post by Tim S »

Before you fix on a specific plate, maybe check with the suppliers which ones will fit your 1907 stock. Some older 1907 stocks were not made to take alternative buttplates, and the rear surface isn't vertical, which makes it more difficult to mount a new butt.
Lil Stinkpot

Post by Lil Stinkpot »