Anschutz 8001 (problem with cocking lever)

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

Ranb

Anschutz 8001 (problem with cocking lever)

Post by Ranb »

The gun club I belong to in Bremerton WA started up a Junior Small Bore program back in 2013. They were looking for help and I raised my hand. I had no experience with small bore competitive shooting so for the first several months I merely ran the line and watched the other coaches. Gradually I started training the newest shooters who started out in the prone position using a rest. These days I get the kids going in the kneeling and off hand positions while the better coaches keep an eye on me.

Anyway, I had to learn to shoot 3-position to better understand how to coach the kids so I put together a Savage MKI with a Boyd's stock, Anschutz rail, homemade palm rest and an aluminum butt hook for under $500. It's a rather primitive rifle but I can shoot 92/100 on the NRA 50 foot target. Since the price of the cheap target ammo (CCI Std Vel) is rather high, I bought an Anschutz 8001. With the butt plate most of the way out it fits me good enough, much better than the Savage. I'm able to do 96/100 with the NRA AR-5/10 target at 10 meters. Shooting 15,000 pellets will recoup the cost of the 8001 in 22lr savings alone; I'll do this in 2 years.

I got the 8001 when one of the coaches told me it would fit my 5'9" frame; and it does. It was also a bargain at $1450 At 7.9 pounds it is rather light though. But someday it will belong to my granddaughter and for now I let some of the kids use it to train with. Is there any way to add weight to it for when I use it?