Tuners

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

Abi

Tuners

Post by Abi »

Tuners...I know nothing about them.

I shoot Smallbore 3P and Prone with an Anschutz 1907, I am considering options for a tuner without using a bloop tube. I'm frugal with my pocket change.

Thoughts?
gwsb

Re: Tuners

Post by gwsb »

Abi I am not an expert on tuners but when I put mine on my rifle the group size was reduced by about 25%. It is integrated with a bloop tube though.

I have never played with it since it seemed to work out of the box. Some shooters test different settings and some say the biggest advantage is to be able to find a setting that makes a good lot of ammo great with each lot having a different setting, of course.

Also, if you keep shooting long enough you will find that a bloop tube is a huge advantage as your eyes get older.
Tim S

Post by Tim S »

It may be difficult to find a tuner that's not part of a bloop tube and that would work for smallbore. You could fit a Benchrest tuner, as these can be had without a bloop tube, but then you'd have nowhere to put the foresight. There are the old-fashioned bedding tuners, like the Freeland that fitted into the fore-end and tensioned the barrel, but I don't think these are still made.

As for cost, would a tuner+tube be much more expensive than a straight tuner? If you want cheap, just add weight onto the muzzle.
WesternGrizzly

Post by WesternGrizzly »

Abi,
I use a tuner tube on my rifle, and I can give you a little bit of advice. First off, I use a 2013 (500mm) barrel, and a 12 inch Uptagrafft Tube.
First off: they work. A tuner will change the size of your groups, and if used properly it can make them a bit smaller. But if you have them set incorrectly it can make your groups larger.