New to 10m air rifle

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

UCChris

New to 10m air rifle

Post by UCChris »

Hi guys. My name is Christopher and I'm not new to airguns, but I am new to 10m air rifle shooting. I usually frequent the GTA forums and my primary focus is airgun hunting. Anyway, I got hooked on 10m when I went to my hunter's safety class in a neighboring city. I found out they also did 10m air rifle at the range there and, after finding out that I shoot airguns, the range master let me shoot one of their Feinwerkbau 700's. What a nice rifle! I had been dabbling in 10m a little bit before and was doing somewhat decent with my break barrel D34.. I immediately shot a 100/100 on a 50 foot .22 target with that FWB 700. Ever since, I have been shooting at a 10m target, 100-250 pellets a day, with my break barrel air rifle. I've decided that I really, really want to jump into this aspect of shooting with both feet. So that leads me to the number one question asked by new guys. What rifle should I get? Well, luckily, I did some of my own research and came up with my own answer. However, it is another popular question. Crosman Challenger or Airforce Edge? Well, I think I want the Edge. I have heard of inaccuracy issues popping up, but everyone I've actually talked to (4 people) all love them. So I want to find a used Edge, in the blue coloring, here on the "Buy, Sell, Trade" section. I'm going to pump it up with an Airforce hand pump and it should be a ton of fun! I do however, have some questions.

1) Is the Airforce Edge good enough for a casual, "basement" 10m shooter? I may (read: probably) compete in the Sporter class with my local league and/or college club. I'm not out to win a ton, just to have fun.

2) I have read a few threads where some people have said that you will "outgrow" the Edge fast. What does this mean? I'm not looking to ever move to Precision class, so I'm not sure that I can/will "outgrow" the Edge.